Back on Track – Pyramids aren’t just in Egypt my friend

Blimmin’ ‘eckers, its nippy noodles out there ( translation: its really really cold currently) and muggins here forgot to pack her trousers before heading off out this morning.  After feeling cold all day you can only imagine my joy when I turfed out my kit bag  to find just my cropped running leggings.  Still, with a choice between running in them, my work attire or just my knickers I realised I had to make do with what I had and brave the cold, whilst compensating with the bare bottom half of my legs by wearing as many layers as possible on my top half.

This evening however, to battle against the arctic climates Coach Man had a training session in mind for me, not only to keep me warm, but to test my fitness.  After my slight meltdown in last week’s blog about my lack of fitness, this posed an interesting challenge and so I braced myself for what Coach Man had concocted this evening.  The answer was pyramids.

We’re not talking cheerleader type human pyramids here, that would be a bit odd to do on an athletics track with only one person, we’re talking about running pyramids, where the victim/athlete has to run a set of distances, each run increasing in length until you reach the furthest distance and then run back down again.  If you are none the wiser after that convoluted description, here’s a better one.

An example of a  Pyramid in the athletics world:

200m

300m

400m

300m

200m

No burying dead kings in these, but I thought it may have spelt death for me as I summoned my courage and walked over to start my first 200m.  I think I should also point out now that between each run you do get a breather for a few minutes, you don’t just run constantly.   The point of a pyramid is not only to increase strength, fitness and test CV, its also to encourage the runner to find a rhythm and pace themselves.  There is no point blasting the first part of a race and then having to slow to a jog to finish it, the only person who could get away with those race tactics would be Usain Bolt, its about keeping a constant, but fast enough pace.

Although the idea of running all those distances was a bit daunting, I wasn’t so phased about the 200m or 300m, it was the 400m, looming over the first two runs like the big scary awful race that it is.  Psychologically I knew I had to manage a semi decent 400m otherwise i’d refuse to ever run one again which would be a bit awkward as I found out last week that Coach Man has a 400m plan for me (i’m not sure what happened to long jump).

Not going to lie, it wasn’t the easiest of runs but completing that 400m, getting over the line and not passing out afterwards were hell of an achievement and the boost i’ve needed for a little while.  After that the other runs were far easier and as I completed the full pyramid I was congratulated by Coach Man.  I had shown I could do it, had improved both my running and my fitness since joining in the summer, that I should be very happy with my achievement…and to prepare myself for doing two or three pyramid sets a session in the upcoming months….

Warmed me up though.

FQ

Leave a Reply

