Rugby Union – England vs New Zealand Test Series Eve

Coming hot off the back of their comprehensive 23-13 victory over France earlier in November, England Women kick off their 3 test series against World Champions New Zealand tomorrow evening at Esher Stadium.  Following a 2-0 victory in the corresponding series last autumn, the England squad go into tomorrow’s first match in confident mood, despite facing opponents who bested them in the World Cup final in 2010.

England make ten changes from the starting line-up against France fewer than three weeks ago, Katherine Merchant, Michaela Staniford, Emily Scarratt and Katy McLean returning to the backs division, while the pack is strengthened with call ups for Rochelle Clark, Victoria Fleetwood, Laura Keates, Tamara Taylor and Marlie Packer.

England Starting XV to face New Zealand: 


15:        Danielle Waterman

14:        Katherine Merchant

13:        Emily Scarratt

12:        Alice Richardson

11:        Michaela Staniford

10:        Katy McLean (c)

9:         Natasha Hunt


1:         Rochelle Clark

2:         Victoria Fleetwood

3:         Laura Keates

4:         Tamara Taylor

5:         Rowena Burnfield

6:         Heather Fisher

7:         Marlie Packer

8:         Sarah Hunter (vc)

The remaining two tests play on 27th November (Aldershot, 7.30pm) and 1st December (Twickenham, 5.00pm).  The opening two matches of the series can be seen on the RFU website while the final test will be shown live on Sky 1 after the culmination of the equivalent men’s international.

For a catch up on the 2010 world cup final have a watch of the video below:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s