Sportswomen of the Year – Sky Sports and Sunday Times

As the nights draw in and the temperature drops, so the awards season begins. The Brit Awards, The Oscars, you name it, the great and the good will attend in a whirl of designer frocks, camera flashes and column inches.  The same also applies to the sporting world with this winter being an overload of athlete awards, teams of the year and sport writing accolades.  There’s already been the British Athletic Writer’s 51st annual award, 15th annual FA Women’s Football awards and The Football Blogging Awards to name a few, with BT Action Woman Awards, William Hill Sports Book of the Year and the now legendary BBC Sports Personality of the Year all on this horizon before the end of 2013.

Next up is The Sunday Times and now also Sky Sport’s Sportswomen of the Year awards (SWOTY).  Started back in 1988 by the Sunday Times to give recognition  to British Sportswomen, this year the awards have been joined by Sky Sports, who will broadcast the Awards live on their channel on 5th December 2013, a first of the SWOTYs.

So who’s made the cut for nominations?  There’s a distinct lack of GB hockey and a world champion reigning Scottish Women’s Curling Team, however many of the other athletes come from quite a wide walk to sporting life.  Still, we’d like to know your thoughts on who should win and who else you think should have been shortlisted. Answers on a postcard to @sportistblog or the comments section below.

The Sunday Times & Sky Sports Sportswoman of the Year

Charlotte Dujardin- Dressage
Heather Knight – Cricket
Becky James-Track Cycling
Christine Ohuruogu – 400m Athletics
Shelley Rudman- Skeleton Bobsleigh
Non Stanford – Triathlon

Young Sportswoman of the Year (21 years or younger)
Dina Asher-Smith – Track Athletics
Charley Hul – Golf
Becky James – Track Cyclist
Katarina Johnson-Thompson – Heptathlon

Disability Sports Person of the Year
Hannah Cockroft – Track Athletics
Sophie Hahn – Track Athletics
Amy Marren – Swimming
Eleanor Simmonds – Swimming

Community Award
Rimla Akhtar
Karen Edwards
Brenda Prescott (services to swimming)
Ros Spearing (I think i’ve just fallen in love with this project)

Team of the Year
England Cricket Team
England Netball Team
Europe’s Solheim Cup Team
Great Britain’s Team Pursuit Cycling Squad

There will also be a Lifetime Achievement Award and the Helen Rollason Award for Inspiration which will be announced on the evening. So make a note in the diary and show your support for not only these amazing athletes, but for the media taking women’s sport that bit more seriously!


Image taken from!)


One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s