Sportswomen of the Year 2014 – and the winner is…

Somehow it has already been a full year since the last Sportswoman of the Year Awards as last Wednesday the stars of the women’s sporting world headed to the Sky Sports Studios for the 2014 ceremony.

Up for the Sportswoman crowd this year was Skeleton gold medalist Lizzy Yarnold, European 10,000m champion Jo Pavey, Dressage legend Charlotte Dujardin, swimming golden girl Fran Halsall, Squash World champion Laura Massaro and far-too-many-accolades-to-already-to-mention cyclist Joanna Roswell.  All worthy winners with some amazing World, European and Commonwealth titles between them, however it was Dujardin who cantered (sorry) away with the trophy after another stellar year in the dressage arena on the beautiful Valegro. Dujardin is now the first person in the history of the sport who has ever come even close to winning the full set of individual elite titles, something that makes her a worthy winner.

The other winners on the night were 23 year old swimmer Stephanie Slater who was crowned Disability Sportwoman of the Year, Claudia Fragapane, the present and future of Team GB gymnastics who won Young Sportswoman of the Year, whilst team of the year went to the World Cup winning England’s Women’s rugby squad.  There were also awards for Sue Frett who won the Community Award for her dedication to the Surrey branch of the Special Olympics (SOS) and Mel Woodwards who received the Helen Rollason Award for Inspiration. Louise Martin won the Lifetime Achievement award for her work in making Glasgow 2014 a success.


Image from (thanks!)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s